Cancel an Order

If there is a problem with an order, the buyer or seller may cancel. Cancelling an order will move all items from the order back into the seller's inventory. The order status will change to Cancelled. For a list of valid and invalid reasons to cancel an order, see our Order Cancellation Policy.

Cancellation Requirements:
The option to cancel an order will appear only if the following conditions are met:

If you are the SELLER in the transaction:

  • After a Non-Paying Buyer Alert has been filed and active for 2 weeks (or as soon as 1 week if the buyer has not responded to the complaint). The option to cancel will also appear if a NPB has been filed and the buyer selected to cancel the order and accept penalty option (status is NPX).
  • After an Order Cancel Request has been filed. If the buyer initiated an OCR, it is strictly up to the seller to decide whether or not to cancel the order. If you (the seller) filed the Order Cancel Request then the order may be cancelled immediately afterward.
  • If the buyer was terminated by BrickLink Administration

If you are the BUYER in the transaction:

  • After a Non-Responding Seller Alert (NRS) has been filed and active for 2 weeks (if the seller has not responded to the complaint).
  • After a Non-Shipping Seller Alert (NSS) has been filed and active for 2 weeks (if the seller has not provided proof of shipping or a refund).
  • If the seller was terminated by BrickLink Administration
Cancellation Instructions:
Please be aware that once an order has been cancelled, it cannot be reinstated under any circumstances.

If you are the SELLER in the transaction:

  1. Go to the Problem Order page and enter the order ID. If the order is eligible for cancellation, you will see the option to file an OCR.
  2. Select the option to file an OCR & select a reason for what happened (a comment is also required). Click the Take Action button.
  3. You will now see the option to cancel along with options for returning the order items to your inventory. Review the inventory options, select the option to cancel, and click the Take Action button. *Please note: If you selected the option to edit items before returning them to your inventory, you will need to go through additional steps before the cancellation is finalized.

If you are the BUYER in the transaction:

  1. Go to the Problem Order page and enter the order ID. If the order is eligible for cancellation, you will see the option to file an OCR.
  2. Select the option to file an OCR & select a reason for what happened (a comment is also required). Click the Take Action button.
  3. The order status will be changed to OCR and the seller will be notified. It is strictly up to the seller to decide whether or not to cancel the order.
  4. If the seller approves the OCR, the order will be cancelled. However, if the seller rejects the OCR request the order will revert back to its previous status.
Returning Items in Order back to Seller's Inventory:
If an item in the order is already in the seller's inventory, the item will be Consolidated with the same item in the seller's inventory. Otherwise, the item will be added as a new item to the seller's inventory.

On the Problem Order page below the option to Cancel Order, the seller can select an option to "Edit items before returning them to my inventory". Selecting this option will take the seller through a 4-step process where the seller can edit or delete all items in the order before they are returned to their inventory and select whether or not they want to consolidate the items with existing items in their inventory using new or old values for selected fields:

  • Step 1: Select Consolidation Options
  • Step 2: Edit Items
  • Step 3: Verify Items
  • Step 4: Upload Items to Inventory and Cancel Order
If this option is not checked or the buyer cancels the order via NSS/NRS then the order will be canceled in a one-step process in which the items will be consolidated using default old values for all item fields.

Items are not returned back to the seller's inventory if the buyer cancels the order via NSS, NRS or if the seller has been unregistered.

Pending Order Item Removal Requests
If there are any Order Item Removal Requests in pending status, these requests will be cancelled when an order is cancelled.
Seller Fee:
If an order is not cancelled through a Non-Shipping Seller Alert or Non-Responding Seller Alert, the fee entry for that order will be set to $0.00 and your account balance adjusted. If an order is cancelled in a different month from which it was initiated, it will remain on your bill for the previous month. Any fees paid for orders which are (or will be) cancelled will act as a credit toward your next billing invoice. Please see our Fee and Billing Policy for more information.